Did you hear that?

FUNK 45 OF THE MONTH (November 2009)

Brownout is an 8 piece funk band from Texas. Featuring former Ocote Soul Sounds member, Adrian Quesada on guitars, this release blends sax, trombone, flute, trumpet, keyboards, strings and hard percussion. Both sides are instrumental.
“Nawlins” is an uptempo funky disco joint with dangerous amounts of saxophone*. If you’re looking for a bit of a party starter (at the risk of losing all credibility as a funk DJ) this will be a solid addition to any collection.
“C130” is a bit more laid back, with some tasteful breaks and heavy strings thrown into the mix. There’s a big breakdown in the middle of this tune, reminiscent of “Ashley’s Roachclip /Paid in Full”. Had this tune dropped 35 years ago, it would stand proud with such names as the Skull Snaps and The Soul Searchers. Heavy.

* warning: may induce white man’s overbite.

  1. No comments yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.